Who’s Your Driver?

A designated friend. A ride-sharing service. The trusty, dependable taxi. A public bus, or train, or tram, or ferry. Even a cycle rickshaw. Any of these would be better than getting behind the wheel after a night of drinking.

In 2015, nearly 5,000 people were injured and close to 250 died in alcohol-related traffic incidents in Virginia. 100% of which were preventable. So, before you plan to drink, plan to answer this: Who’s your driver?

Virginia Facts

  • In 2015, 32% of all fatal traffic crashes in Virginia were traffic-related.
  • Nearly 21,000 people were convicted of a DUI in Virginia in 2015.

Safety First

  • Every 2 minutes a person is injured in an alcohol-related incident.
  • On average, nearly 30 people die each day as a result of alcohol-related crashes.
  • Even a BAC as low as .03 percent can impair your ability to drive.
  • Among drivers in fatal crashes, men are almost twice as likely as women to have been intoxicated.

Seat Belts Save Lives

  • In 2015, seat belts saved nearly 14,000 lives in the U.S. alone.
  • Seat belts have saved an estimated 345,000 lives since 1975.
  • An unrestrained person is 4 times more likely to die if they are ejected from a vehicle in a crash.
  • If you’re sitting in the back seat, a seat belt can reduce the risk of death by 60%.
  • More fatal crashes with unrestrained victims occur in rural areas over urban ones.
  • More unrestrained victims are killed in pickup trucks than any other vehicle.

The Cost Of Drunk Driving

In Virginia, the fine for a first DUI conviction is around $2,500 and may also include:

  • Up to a year in jail.
  • A mandatory ignition interlock device that requires the driver to blow into a breathalyzer to start the engine.
  • A one-year suspension of all driving privileges.

Know The Law

In Virginia, you are legally considered Driving/Operating Under The Influence (DUI) if you operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. Even if your BAC is lower than .08, you may still be considered Under The Influence if your ability to operate a motor vehicle is impaired.